Welcome to Social Work.

A few months ago I told my (now ex) boyfriend that I was going to write a book and call said book “Welcome to Social Work.”  He said, “Go for it,” in that I-could-give-two-shits-about-what-you-do-but-if-you-want-to-do-that-then-awesome tone of voice.  This is my jumping point for the book I hope to one day publish about the life experiences one has as a social worker.

As I stated in my previous post, I am a social worker and I work in the child welfare field.  At least once a week I state, “Welcome to social work.”  For example, I just received a call from an Otolaryngology (ENT) office.  The lady said, “Your client has BlueCross BlueShield and Medicaid.  We have to bill BCBS before Medicaid, but I need to know the guarantor.”  I said, “All of my clients have Medicaid because they’re wards of the state.  As far as I know none of them have BCBS.”  She said, “Well I called the BCBS number and they said that this client has been a member since January 2006.”  Me, “Ooookay.  I have never had a client with BCBS.  Welcome to social work, though.”

Listed here are situations that elicit a “Welcome to social work” from me:

  • Working late
  • Working early
  • Receiving a referral at 3am
  • Being on-call 24/7
  • Going through a ream of paper in one day
  • Driving 300+ miles in one day
  • Needing an oil change every month
  • Having a 9am court hearing that isn’t called until 1pm
  • Showing up to work in jeans and then having an emergency MDT (multi-disciplinary team) meeting
  • Lice
  • Billing
  • Paperwork
  • Interns
  • Flex time

This list could go on and on and on… hence this blog/hopefully future book.

So sit back and relax, cry, and/or laugh along with me as I tell my tales.  I hope you enjoy my compilations!

P.S. I promise these blogs will get more interesting.  😉

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

